royce prouty royce prouty royce prouty
author novels reviews & recommendations q & a mailing list

Reviews & Recommendations


Stoker's Manuscript
Read about the book
Read an excerpt

Reviews for Stoker's Manuscript

"Prouty's debut, a riveting novel of supernatural suspense, deftly mixes fact and fiction involving the manuscript of Bram Stoker's great vampire novel, Dracula. Stoker's Manuscript illustrates the Dracula legacy: confounding coincidences of history, missing documents, and unanswerable questions about Bram Stoker's intentions."
   —Dacre Stoker, Publishers Weekly

"Dan Brown meets Anne Rice in a compelling novel that is both a literary mystery and a macabre thriller...Drawing on the publishing history of Bram Stoker's original manuscript and its unexplained mysteries, including the fire that destroyed the all the first editions, and Stoker's decision to delete the prologue and epilogue from subsequent editions, Mr. Prouty creates a compelling novel that restores vampires to their traditional role as horrifying creatures whose natural prey is man.
Mr. Prouty's description of the Romanian countryside, with its tiny ancient villages and arcane festivals, its suspicious and frightened citizens, and its wild, untamed landscape, only adds to the reader's steadily increasing unease as their own latent superstitions rise from their subconscious minds...Stoker's Manuscript is poised to take its place beside Bram Stoker's Dracula as a classic of the horror genre, one that tells the rest of the story of ancient evil and one man's struggle to defeat it."
   —New York Journal of Books (read the full review)

"In all, a fun read, well-plotted....An obvious choice for fans of Dracula and Frankenstein."
   —Kirkus

"There's always a danger when a book delves into what many see as a classic that it will either ruin the original or just be seen as a story that is designed to cash in on the fame of what has gone before. What this title by Royce does is take the mythos behind the script of Stokers classic and build upon the lore pertaining to the Lords of the Undead. It's creepy, it has a real feeling of authenticity and for me, was a story that I absolutely loved as I devoured the pages to see what would happen next.

"Add to this a principle character that the readers will enjoy spending time with as well as a wonderfully dark and evocative description of the landscape and all round as a reader I was more than immersed until the final page turned. Great stuff."
   —Falcata Times

"The first chapter sucked me in right away—it's almost impossible not to keep reading. Prouty's careful, sometimes daring mingling of history and legend with fiction makes for a tantalizing novel in which he interweaves, to great effect, some of the mysteries surrounding the genesis of Dracula's writing. Stoker's Manuscript is a modernized, self-aware, meta-retelling of Dracula. The Count's black caleche (carriage) in Stoker's Victorian novel is replaced by a black suburban in Prouty's novel, and the Transylvania of Stoker's day is here transformed into the modern state of Romania. Newcomers to Stoker's masterpiece will want to go back and read the original tale, and the already diehard fan will want to re-read it."
   —John Edgar Browning, editor of The Forgotten Writings of Bram Stoker


Recommended Reading

Who Was Dracula?: Bram Stoker's Trail of Blood, by Jim Steinmeyer
For a terrific, well-written examination of Abraham Stoker's career and literary path to Dracula, Jim Steinmeyer's non-fiction book is a great read. Not just a look at Stoker and his life's station, Jim's book serves up the flavor of the era, including a look at his peers and events that shaped London at the end of the 19th Century.

Dracula, by Bram Stoker
Go ahead, read the original classic necromantic story. Or perhaps read it again.


Recommended Listening

Midnight Syndicate
While music plays a huge role in my life, it is a vital part of setting the atmosphere in my writing room. It was in the sober hours after midnight when I closed the door, huddled with the dogs, turned the air frigid and filled it with music, that the ideas and images came to me, as if sent. For several passages, noteably the cemetery scenes set in Transylvania, the music of Midnight Syndicate was playing, including 'Vampyre', 'Out Of The Darkness', and 'The Dead Matter: Cemetery Gates'.